Edinburgh 10km- survival of the not really very fit

Medal copySo – Saturday was the Edinburgh 10km, the first of my milestones to test my ‘back on it’ metal and, perhaps more importantly, mentality. I started running again January and at that point could manage 10mins before I had to walk for a bit. I am not a natural runner, I’m built for rowing, or perhaps throwing things, and at first I really struggled and wondered why I was doing it. But I ploughed on through and with the help of a good training plan from  ‘The Women’s Guide to Running’ by Liz Yelling, I was making some progress – the day I ran for an hour non-stop was a real achievement, especially as it also involved running up the road around Arthur’s Seat – the first part of the 10km course.

At this point I should note that I’ve done two 10km events before, London in about 2006, and Edinburgh in 2011 and neither time have I managed to run the whole way. So that was my goal for Saturday, although the first step was to run up the hills – I’d only managed it once before race day.

My immediate pre-event training hadn’t been ideal, that is – I hadn’t done any for most of the 2 weeks preceding the race as I was in Japan and sight-seeing, plus 30C temperatures rather got in the way. So all in all I wasn’t in the best frame of mind for running. I considered not doing it, especially after my friend had to pull out as both her children were pretty unwell.

Enjoying sunshine & cake post races (pic stolen from Katy!)

Enjoying sunshine & cake post races (pic stolen from Katy!)

But, I also had friends coming to stay, Katy (who you can read all about here) was doing the half marathon on the Sunday, after spraining her ankle the week before the event last year. And I had told everyone at work that I was doing it. So I gave myself a talking to and thought that if it comes to it I can walk 10km, and I can run the downhills.

Race day came and luckily for this snow leopard the haar was in, and it was a bit chilly and grey. I wandered the 15 mins to the start (I’m rather spoilt on that front, although the half marathon/marathon start is actually at the end of my road – maybe a reason to step up next year…?) and remembered that there is always a great atmosphere for such events. I wandered up to the back of the back pen as I have that peculiarly British horror of being ‘in the way’ and I sort of jiggled around a bit watching the serious runners doing proper warm ups, knowing that morning running isn’t my favourite and anything to help kick start my heartrate should help, whilst not using up precious energy. The start was a bit of an anti-climax being so far back, and I was determined not to run until the start line (not sure why) – and then, there I was, and I started shuffling forward at a pace slightly faster than walking. Starting at the back meant that I quickly overtook some people which was a nice boost, although I was convinced they would catch me up the hills.

The first hill came quite early and I went eyes down, dodging others, and trying to follow people who were still running, but very slowly! I probably could have walked faster, but I decided that I was going to keep plodding on and all the time I was overtaking walkers (and even the odd runner) that was fine by me. The top actually came quicker than it normally does, and suddenly I realised that the worst bit was over, and the wonderful views down to Duddingston always lift the spirit.

After that it was a case of keep plodding on and trying to put the negative thoughts out of my head – my feet hurt, my trainers are too tight, I need the loo, I feel a bit sick, my legs don’t want to keep going. I was able to recognise these for the gremlins they were and reminded myself that something would always be wrong, so even if I stopped to loosen my trainers (risking blisters) then something else would bother me. The weather was perfect, the course was beautiful and I was out there running.

I was also thinking of a couple of inspirational people, my friend who couldn’t make it, who I knew wouldn’t have stopped, but would just keep on moving forward one step at a time, and a member of my old rowing crew, Cass, who that same day was running 145 miles from Birmingham to London – I was doing 4% of that distance, and she’d already been running for 3hrs when I crossed the start line. It put my paltry 10km into perspective. And, of course, my cheering squad Katy who has had an eventful couple of years and achieved great things in the face of adversity.

Before too long I hit the final hill – it is short, but feels inordinately steep (it isn’t) but again I went eyes down, slowed down to what felt like a standtill, but still in a running motion and made to the top. Then it was downhill all the way to the finish, where I heard Katy and Ed cheering me on. I crossed the line – and for the first time had run a whole 10km. In fact it is the furthest I’ve run without stopping/walking. Which has left me wondering what might be next. I’ve a desire to run the Water of Leith (no idea why) – which is conveniently 13 miles, so I’ve been looking at half marathon training plans. What on earth has come over me…!

In the more immediate future I’ve sort of accidentally signed up to a triathlon next weekend. Swimming will be fine, running I now know I can do, bike could be interesting as I’ve been out about once in 6 months. But hey – I’m back on it and have battled some demons this weekend, so can battle some more next weekend.

So – yet again I’m reminded that, along with millions of others, This Girl Can. Some self-belief goes a long way for an over-achiever such as me. Next step is to apply that to a whole host of other parts of life – a lifelong challenge methinks.

One thought on “Edinburgh 10km- survival of the not really very fit

Leave a comment